Ionia County Community Foundation

Benefiting the Ionia area since 1995

The Ionia County Community Foundation, a regional affiliate of Grand Rapids Community Foundation, evaluates local needs and opportunities and looks to fund projects that address the areas of art & culture, community development, education, environment, health, or social needs and that:

  • represent an innovative, start-up effort or are capital in nature (e.g., construction, renovation, equipment)
  • promote cooperation among agencies without duplicating services
  • obtain the necessary additional funding to implement and maintain the project
  • are located in Ionia County
  • strengthen or improve agency self-sufficiency or efficiency
  • yield substantial community benefits for the resources invested
  • serve a broad segment of the community
  • encourage additional and permanent funding or matching gifts from other donors
  • are managed by nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status

Download a PDF of the general funding guidelines.

The Ionia County Community Foundation also has a Youth Advisory Committee that advises grantmaking to organizations working to benefit youth in Ionia County. 

Download a PDF of the youth funding guidelines. 

For more information, please contact Brian Talbot, Grant Committee Chair, at (616) 527-8721 or email him at



The Foundation considers grant applications once/year. After reviewing our grantmaking guidelines, grant applications can be completed online and are due on December 30. Decisions will be announced by the end of February.

For technical assistance with the online grant application, call (616)454-1751 or email

Apply for a General Grant


Nonprofits that benefit youth may also consider applying for a grant from ICCF's Youth Advisory Committee. The deadline for the Youth Advisory Council grant submission is early February each year, and decisions are announced in May. 

Apply for a Youth Grant

Fund Advisory Committee

Community Leaders that Serve ICCF

  • James E. Mc Carty, Chair
  • Sara Badgero
  • Bruce Chadwick
  • Thomas D. Dickinson
  • Margaret Helmer
  • Boomer Hoppough
  • Suzanne Hoseth-Kreeger
  • Robert Kjolhede
  • Maureen Meade
  • Jason Mellema
  • Ronald D. Story
  • Lowell Swartz
  • Hailie Patterson
  • Brian Talbot
  • Deborah Wagner
  • Timothy B. Walling


Giving Online is Easy!

All gifts to the Ionia Community Foundation are tax deductible and help people in Ionia County.

Donate now


We're Proud to Support These Great Nonprofits